If you suffer an on-the-job injury or contract a disease resulting from the work you do, you may be eligible for benefits according to the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act.
If you do suffer an injury, there are two things you should do right away:
- Report the injury to your employer right away
- Make a claim to the Commission no more than two years after the accident occurs
The same step must be taken if you suffer a work-related disease of any kind. The fact is, most people believe that if their employer, or their workers’ comp insurance carrier is providing payment for their medical expenses and time off work, they don’t have to take any other steps. This is not the case and something that a workers’ compensation attorney can help them better understand.
Workers’ Compensation Work Related Injury Laws and Requirements
It is imperative that you report your work-related illness or injury to your employer as soon as you can, but no later than 30 days after the accident occurs, or within 30 days that your doctor states you are suffering from this type of injury.
Your employer must then file a report outlining the disease or accident with the Commission within a period of 10 days. If your illness or injury is not reported to your employer within the 30-day period, it can result in the claim being denied.
Filing Directly with the Commission for Workers’ Compensation Cases
It is imperative that you also file a Claim for Benefit with the Commission to let them know about the accident and to ensure your rights are protected. After this is done, you will get more information from the Commission, which includes a Jurisdiction Claim Number, or JCN, and a “PIN” number.
There are several ways that you can file a Claim for Benefit with the Commission:
- In person at a local office or with your workers’ compensation attorney
- By mail to the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission
- By fax
- By WebFile
Helpful Hints for Your Workers’ Compensation Case
You don’t need to delay in reporting your illness or injury to your employer or filing your Claim for Benefit. If you do, it may result in you losing your ability to ever file a claim or to get the benefits that you so rightfully deserve.
If you need help with your workers’ compensation case, or if you are unsure of how to proceed, you can contact the team of experienced workers’ compensation attorneys from Hilton & Somer by calling 703-560-0700.